Friday, December 27, 2013

Nigerian History 101

Nigeria won independence from Britain in 1960.

After the December 1959 elections, Tafawa Balewa became the Prime Minister of Nigeria and the overall head of government.  
Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, d. 1966 at 53

Nnamdi Azikiwe was the governor general and in 1963 became the first President of Nigeria.  He served as (ceremonial) head of state.    
Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe, d. 1996 at 91

Obafemi Awolowo continued as leader of the opposition.
Chief Obafemi Awolowo, d. 1987 at 78
Click photos and links for more insights into the early history of Nigeria as a country.
NEWSBUKA for all the burning topics in Nigerian politics and society.

1 comment:

  1. What did they write? Zik wrote a lot of books including speeches/articles and poems. See a list here. He received several honorary degrees, hence the title “Dr.”

    Awo wrote Path to Nigerian Freedom and several other books that you can find here.

    You can read the first speech as Prime Minister (1957) of Tafawa Balewa. You can also find his independence (1960) speech in a collection of speeches titled Mr. Prime Minister, or in another selection called Nigeria Speaks. Here is an extended list of his published books.
    It is also said that he played an important role in the founding of the Organization of African Unity, now evolved into the African Union.


Maître D'